Varsity C Celebration Honors Columbia's 800 Student-Athletes
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics/Mike McLaughlin

NEW YORK John Baumann and Emily Jacobson won the Connie S. Maniatty Outstanding Senior Student-athlete Awards to highlight the 87th edition of the Varsity C Celebration: Saluting our Student-athletes in LeFrak Gymnasium.

The event, which honors Columbia's 800 student-athletes, also featured the presentation of the Athletics Alumni Award to Donna Herlinsky MacPhee '89 (women's tennis), and the watch award presentations for the Columbia senior student-athletes earning the highest cumulative grade-point averages and at least two varsity letters. Jane "Tally" Pucher (women's rowing) earned the Marion R. Philips Watch, and Drew Ford (men's soccer) earned the Dwight D. Eisenhower watch.

Herlinsky MacPhee is a former Varsity C Club president and one of the founders of the Columbia Athletics Women's Leadership Council.

Baumann has earned first team All-Ivy League twice in basketball and second-team all-league in baseball. He was All-Metropolitan in hoops twice, including first team accolades in 2008. He led the team in scoring in each of the last two years and broke Columbia’s single-season three-point field goal percentage record at 50.9 percent in 2007. In baseball, the 6-foot-7 pitcher led the team in victories and strikeouts as a junior.

Jacobson was four-time first-team All-American in sabre, and won the 2005 NCAA title in that weapon. She finished with a career record of 131-16. She was 17-1 in the Ivy League this winter, completed four years of first-team All-Ivy League accolades.

The evening's other highlight was the unveiling of the 25 Most Influential Alumnae and the 25 members of the Honor Roll for the Silver Anniversary of the Columbia-Barnard Athletic Consortium, to be celebrated in the 2008-09 academic year.


Varsity C Celebration 2008 Awards

*academic award (decided by GPA)

Alumni Athletic Award Donna MacPhee 89CC (w tennis)
*Eisenhower Watch Andrew “Drew” Ford 08CC (m soccer)
*Marion R. Philips Watch Jane “Tally” Pucher 08CC (w rowing)
Connie S. Maniatty Outstanding Senior Athlete Award
M John Baumann ’08CC
F Emily Jacobson ’08CC
Student Speakers JoJo Smith 08CC (football), Amy Krakauer 08CC (w swimming & diving)

Fall Sports

Men’s Cross Country
Cross Country Award James Bogner III 10CC

Women’s Cross Country
Kathy Shiels Memorial Award Carmen Ballard 08CC

Field Hockey
Field Hockey Award Liz Reeve 08CC
Lion Pride Award Megan Davidson 09CC

David W. Smyth Football Cup Austin Knowlin 10CC
Phil Fusco Memorial Award Justin “JoJo” Smith 08CC
Class of 1913 Football Cup Justin “JoJo” Smith 08CC
Gustave A. Jaeger Memorial Trophy (FB or TR) Craig Hormann 08SEAS

Women’s Soccer
Ali Ahern Memorial Award Cathleen Cimino 08CC
1994 Award Lindsey Knowles 08CC

Men’s Soccer
Rocco Commisso Award Michael Testa 08CC
Soccer Alumni Award Tom Heinbockel 08CC

Volleyball Award Natalie Gerling 08CC

Winter Sports

Men’s Basketball
Raymond J. Fullerton Memorial Award John Baumann 08CC
Walter H. Bernson Memorial Award Brett Loscalzo 08CC
Jason Wachob Award Joseph Bova 09CC
*Sheldon B. Preschel Basketball Memorial Award Ben Nwachukwu 08CC

Women’s Basketball
Most Valuable Player Award Michele Gage 08CC
Most Inspirational Player Award Cate Taylor 08CC

Men’s Fencing
James Murray Memorial Trophy Lorenzo Casertano 09CC
Kestler Award Alexander Diacou 08CC

Women’s Fencing
Women’s Fencing Award Emily Jacobson 08CC
Kestler Award Danielle Gordet 08BC

Women’s Swimming & Diving
Women’s Swimming Award Hannah Galey 09CC, Shannon
Hosey 09SEAS
Tina Steck Award Lauren Fraley 09CC

Men’s Swimming & Diving

Herbert E. Vollmer Memorial Award Kevin Wakefield 09CC
Jim Stallman Memorial Award Adam Clayton Powell V 11CC
*Edward T. Kennedy Memorial Prize David Collier 09CC

Gus Peterson Memorial Trophy Anthony Constantino 08CC
Jonathan P. Gross Memorial Award Brandon Kinney 08CC

Spring Sports

Women’s Archery Award Margot Stuchin 11CC


Lou Gehrig MVP Award Henry Perkins 08CC
Joseph P. Allen Memorial Award Noah Cooper 08CC

William Terminello Award M Gus Quartararo 08CC
F Stevy Loy 10CC

Women’s Lacrosse
Women’s Lacrosse Award Marisa Marcellino 08CC

Men’s Rowing
William Sanford Award Stephen LaPerla 08CC
Robert Harron Memorial Bowl Nick LaCava 09CC
Stephen M. Abbey Memorial Prize
heavyweight Mike Robinson 08CC
lightweight Jason Novick 08CC
*Richard Goodridge Jackson Memorial Prize Jason Novick 08CC

Women’s Rowing

Women’s Crew Award Emily Tvetenstrand '08CC
Edward C. Hewitt Award Madeline Hartzell '08CC

Women’s Softball Award Danielle Pineda 10CC
Carol Dodge Award Rachael Gargano 08CC

Women’s Tennis
Women's Tennis Award Nina Suda 09CC

Men’s Tennis
Jeremiah Courtney Tennis Cup Mark Clemente 08CC

Men’s Track & Field
Harrison K. Bird Memorial Award
Indoors Liam Boylan-Pett 08CC
Outdoors Liam Boylan-Pett 08CC
Edgar “Dick” Mason Trophy Zachary Richard 08
Steven N. Chait Award Jonah Rathbun 08

Women’s Track & Field
Women’s Track and Field Award
Indoors Carmen Ballard 08CC
Outdoors Erika Moses 08CC