Columbia Announces Second Athletics Hall of Fame Class
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics
NEW YORK Columbia Athletics will induct eighteen of its former student-athletes and two former head coaches as members of the second class of the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame. The induction will occur at a special ceremony in Low Memorial Library on the Columbia University Morningside Campus in October.

Columbia will also honor two of its all-time great teams, two individuals for their special contributions to the Columbia athletics program, and one former athletics staff member. The inductees have been selected by a vote of a selection committee of Columbia Athletics affiliates, including alumni, athletics staff, and representatives of Columbia’s Varsity C Club.

“The history of the Columbia athletics program has included some of the best and brightest in the world, and we are so proud to continue honoring the men and women who have helped shape the rich tradition of Columbia Athletics,” says Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics and Physical Education at Columbia. “These teams and individuals have made significant contributions to the University, and are truly deserving of this honor.”

Columbia University has fielded teams for intercollegiate athletics competition since the mid-1800s. Some records indicate that the first intercollegiate sporting event in which Columbia was a participant was a rowing regatta in New York City in 1852.

Among the members of the second class of the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame are former National Football League standouts Marty Domres 69CC and Bruce Gehrke 48CC, former National Basketball Association head coach and first-round draft pick Walt Budko ’48CC, rowing Olympian Stacey Borgman ’98BC, New York Giants team physician and National Football Foundation Trustee Russ Warren ’62CC, and the 1983 men’s soccer team that was ranked No. 1 in the nation and was the NCAA runner-up.

The second class of the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame includes 13 men, five women and two teams representing eight different sports. The sports represented are: Men’s Basketball (5), Football (4), Baseball (2), Women’s Basketball (1), Men’s Fencing (1), Women’s Fencing (1), Men’s Rowing (1), Women’s Rowing (1), Men’s Soccer (1), Women’s Tennis (1), Men’s Track & Field (1) and Women’s Track & Field (1).

Nominees for the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame were submitted by the general public from September 2005 through February 2008. Inductees are eligible in the following categories: Category 1: Former Male Student-athlete Heritage Era (1852-1954), Category 2: Former Male Student-athlete Modern Era (1954-present), Category 3: Former Female Student-athlete, Category 4: Coaches Heritage Era (1852-1954), Category 5: Coaches Modern Era (1954-present), Category 6: Teams Heritage Era (1852-1954), Category 7: Teams Modern Era (1954-present), Category 8: Athletics Administrators and Staff, Category 9: Special Category for Individual Achievement. More than 200 nominations were submitted for consideration.

The second class of the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame will be inducted at a black-tie ceremonial dinner to be held on campus in the Rotunda of Low Memorial Library on October 2, 2008, and recognized at halftime of the Columbia-Princeton football game October 4, 2008.

Columbia’s athletics program has featured some of the most notable names in American sports history. Among the members of the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame’s inaugural class, inducted in 2006, were baseball Hall of Famers Lou Gehrig 1921-23CC and Eddie Collins 1907CC, college football legends Sid Luckman ’39CC and Lou Little (head coach), as well as former Olympic Gold Medalist Swimmer and Honda-Broderick Award-winner Cristina Teuscher ’00CC.

Tickets to the Induction Ceremony and Dinner are available by contacting Michelle Maguire at (212) 854-2781. Media members may contact Todd Kennedy at (212) 854-7141.

The members of the Second Class of the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame are:

Former Male Student-athletes Heritage Era (1852-1954)
John Azary ’51CC, Basketball, posthumous
Walt Budko ’48CC, Basketball
Bruce Gehrke ’48CC, Baseball/Basketball/Football, posthumous
Gene Rossides ’49CC, Football
Bill Sanford ’30CC, Rowing, posthumous
George Shaw ’53CC, Track & Field, posthumous

Former Male Student-athletes Modern Era (1954-Present)
Rolando Acosta ’79CC, Baseball
Ben Atkins ’93CC, Fencing
Alton Byrd ’79CC, Basketball
Marty Domres ’69CC, Football
Leonard “Buck” Jenkins ’93CC, Basketball
Steve Sirtis ’84CC, Soccer
Russ Warren ’62CC, Football

Former Female Student-athletes
Stacey Borgman ’98BC, Rowing
Ellen Bossert ’86CC, Basketball
Carrie Daly ’84BC, Track & Field
Janette Kizer-Antiles ’92BC, Tennis
Tzu Moy ’91CC, Fencing

Coach Heritage Era (1852-1954)
Andy Coakley, Head Coach of Baseball (1915-51), posthumous

Coach Modern Era (1954-Present)
Irv DeKoff, Head Coach of Fencing (1952-67)

Teams Heritage Era (1852-1954)
1950-51 Men’s Basketball

Teams Modern Era (1954-Present)
1983 Men’s Soccer

Athletics Staff
Frank Dobbins, Equipment Manager (1962-98), posthumous

Special Category for Individual Achievement
George Baker, posthumous
Lawrence A. Wien ’25CC ’27LAW, posthumous