NEW YORK – The Columbia field hockey team conducted its annual end-of-year banquet on Saturday, April 6 in the Milstein Hospitality Pavilion at The Campbell Sports Center to celebrate team and individual accomplishments from the 2012 season.

Here’s a list of this year’s award winners.

Most Valuable Player – Gabby Kozlowski
“Every member of this program is valuable in some shape or form,” said head coach Marybeth Freeman. “However, Gabby was able to control the tempo of the game with her commanding presence and holds both herself and the team accountable.  Not only did she make valuable contributions, including setting a new program record for career goals, but she challenged her teammates to take their skills to the next level and in turn making them better athletes and this program stronger as a whole.”

Most Improved Player – Bridget DeSandis
“Bridget is detail oriented, willing, and wanted to learn,” Freeman stated. “She listens to what the staff was asking of her both technically and tactically and took it upon herself to focus on adjustments needed to be successful.”

The Field Hockey Award – Christie O’Hara
The Field Hockey Award is given annually to the player, selected by her teammates, who has contributed the most to elevate the level of the Columbia University Field Hockey program.

The Lion Pride Award – Lauren Skudalski & Liz Malone
The Lion Pride award was established in 2005 and is awarded to the player(s) who best exemplifies the characteristics of Perseverance, Respect, Intensity, Dedication and Effort, not only on the field, but in the community and with her teammates as well.

3-Touch Hockey Award – Katie DeSandis
3-Touch Hockey, a philosophy instilled within the Columbia Field Hockey Program, became an award in 2010. This award identifies a student-athlete who combined athletics, academics, and community into their life on a daily basis.