PRINCETON, N.J. – Sophomore Angelo Amenta and junior Shane Hughes have been selected to the All-Ivy League first team, as announced by the conference office Thursday afternoon. Seniors Penn Gottfried and Josh Houldsworth were also recognized as second team and honorable mention selections, respectively.

Columbia (2) and Cornell (7) were the only two teams with multiple first team selections, while Harvard had one.

Wrestling at 133 pounds, Amenta (17-9) has the most dual wins of any Lion with 11, including a perfect 5-0 mark against the Ancient Eight. Against conference opponents he tallied three decisions, one major against Penn’s McKendry Bade and capped the regular season with a pin against honorable mention selection Anthony Finocchiaro from Brown.

Hughes has been among the most impressive wrestlers at any weight class this season, winning three of his matches by fall and the other two via major decision to earn 26 out of a possible 30 bout points. One of those falls came against second team choice Ricky McDonald from Brown in Columbia 33-9 defeat of the Bears. A 2012 second team selection, Hughes has won 16 of 17 bouts since December 29, falling only in the finals at Midlands. He is 9-1 in dual matches and 18-6 overall with seven falls and five major decisions.

Gottfried and Penn’s Caleb Richardson were each selected to the second team at 125 pounds. Gottfried went 3-2 in the Ancient Eight, highlighted by a stellar tech fall versus Harvard Max Mejia on Feb. 21. He also picked up decisions over Princeton’s Ryan Cash and Brown’s Vincent Moita. Nahshon Garrett, Cornell’s 125-pounder, earned Ivy League Wrestler of Year accolades.

Houldsworth, an NCAA Championship automatic qualifier last season, earned a spot on the honorable mention team following a 3-2 Ivy League campaign. He closed out the regular season with a pin against Harvard’s Brennan Smith and a 10-2 major decision versus Brown Philip Marano on Senior Day. He is one of just two Columbia wrestlers to eclipse 20 win this year, sporting a 21-10 mark heading into the EIWA Championships next weekend.

*Nahshon Garrett, Cornell (So., 125 – Chico, Calif.) 

*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Fr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.) 

*Nahshon Garrett, Cornell (So., 125 – Chico, Calif.)
Angelo Amenta, Columbia (So., 133 – Oregon, Ohio)
*Mike Nevinger, Cornell (Sr., 141 – Perry, N.Y.)
*Chris Villalonga, Cornell (Sr., 149 – Totowa, N.J.)
*Brian Realbuto, Cornell (Fr., 157 – Somers, N.Y.)
*Dylan Palacio, Cornell (Fr., 165 – Long Beach, N.Y.)
*Shane Hughes, Columbia (Jr., 174 – Sussex, Wis.)
*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Fr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)
*James Fox, Harvard (Jr., 197 – Plainfield, N.J.)
*Jacob Aiken-Phillips, Cornell (Jr., 285 – Lawrenceville, Ga.) 

Penn Gottfried, Columbia (Sr., 125 – Hartsdale, N.Y.)
Caleb Richardson, Penn (Fr., 125 – Virginia Beach, Va.)
Mark Grey, Cornell (Fr., 133 – Rockaway, N.J.)
Todd Preston, Harvard (So., 141 – Hampton, N.J.)
Adam Krop, Princeton (Jr., 149 – Urbana, Md.)
Ray Bethea, Penn (So., 157 – Trenton, N.J.)
Casey Kent, Penn (So., 165 – Norristown, Pa.)
Ricky McDonald, Brown (Jr., 174 – Carson City, Nev.)
Lorenzo Thomas, Penn (Jr., 184 – Pittsburgh)
Jace Bennett, Cornell (Jr., 197 – Amarillo, Texas)
Ryder Cavey, Brown (Fr., 285 – Eldersburg, Md.) 

Honorable Mention
Anthony Finocchiaro, Brown (So., 133 – Canastota, N.Y.)
Jeff Canfora, Penn (Jr., 141 – East Hanover, N.J.)
Kevin Moylan, Princeton (So., 157 – Palos Park, Ill.)
Josh Houldsworth, Columbia (Sr., 165 – White Lake, Mich.)
Duke Pickett, Cornell (So., 174 – Culpeper, Va.)
Ophir Bernstein, Brown (Jr., 184 – Allen, Texas)
Abram Ayala, Princeton (So., 197 – Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.)
David Ng, Harvard (Jr., 285 – Massapequa, N.Y.)

*-Unanimous selection
^-Second team expanded to 11 due to ties in the voting.