NEW YORK – The Columbia men's basetball program honored the 2016-17 team and its five graduating seniors - Jeff Coby, Kendall Jackson, Chris McComber, Luke Petrasek and Conor Voss. All five spoke at the end the banquet, reflecting on their four years in a Columbia uniform.

At the start of the night, head coach Jim Engles an dCampbell Family Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Peter Pilling, each spoke to the crowd of nearly 200 assembled at Columbia's Italian Academy Casa Italiana.

Gene Schatz '79CC was the recipient of the Gerald Sherwin Alumni Award to reflect the vital contributions made by a selected loyal and passionate men's basketball alumnus.

McComber earned the Sheldon B. Preschel Memorial Award, given to a junior or senior member of the basketball team who achieves the best cumulative scholastic average through the fall semester.

Coby was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year.

Jackson took home the Feinberg Family Award, given to the member of the team who displays an outstanding commitment to the greater Columbia University community.

Voss received the Jason Wachob award, given to a member of the team "who in the estimation of his teammates and coaches, fought through adversity and never gave up on his teammates or himself." 

Sophomore Peter Barba took home the Walter H. Bernson Memorial award, given to the member of the team who best exemplifies the qualities of team spirit, hustle and determination.

The Raymond J. Fullerton Memorial award, given to that member of the team who, in the estimation of his teammates and coaches, is judged to be the most valuable in terms of spirit, team play and skill, was given to Petrasek, who took home second team All-Ivy League and third team All-Met honors.

To end the night, the  audience was treated to an ESPN-style highlight video of the Lions' season, produced by former Columbia standout Joe Case '02CC.