NEW YORK – Senior Margaret Lu of fencing and men's tennis' Shawn Hadavi were each presented the Connie S. Maniatty Outstanding Senior Student-Athlete Awards to highlight the 96th edition of the Varsity C Celebration at the Roone Arledge Auditorium Wednesday night.

The event was hosted by former Columbia men's basketball great and current ESPN analyst, Dalen Cuff '06CC. The show honored all Columbia student-athletes and their outstanding achievements during the academic year. Click here for the complete photo gallery

Lu was a two-time All-America selection, after a runner-up finish as a junior and bronze medal this past March in women's foil. She helped the Lions win both the 2015 NCAA Championship and Ivy League Championship. She compiled a 250-51 overall record (.831 winning percentage) and a 62-7 tally at Ivy League Championships. Lu, a native of Greenwich, Connecticut, won gold at the NCAA Northeast Regionals in 2015 and 2017 and was the Ivy League Individual Women's Foil Champion four times (Lu shared the title with teammate Jackie Dubrovich and the 2016 Manniaty award winner in 2015). Lu now has a Manniaty award to pair with her 2015 William V. Campbell Athlete of the Year award.

Hadavi is a four-time champion with the men's tennis squad and has been the team's No. 1 singles player the past two seasons. Named 2016 Ivy League Player of the Year, Hadavi has a career singles record of 68-37 and 16-3 against Ancient Eight opponents. He has been ranked as high as No. 39 in the ITA individual player rankings and was the runnner-up at the Oracle ITA Masters Tournamnent, defeating four ranked opponents.

Now in its third year, the William V. Campbell Athlete of the Year award was given to one male and one female student-athlete who demonstrates superior athletic ability during the academic year. This year, the recipients were women's basketball's Camille Zimmerman and Osama Khalifa from squash.


Zimmerman, a unanimous first team All-Ivy League and the 2016-17 MBWA Div. I Women's Player of the Year, was 10th in the nation in scoring (22.5). She led the Ancient Eight in seven categories, including rebounding (9.6 RPG). Zimmerman broke Columbia's single-season scoring record with 608 points and became the 11th Lion to eclipse 1,000 career points.

Khalifa won the 2017 Howe Cup as the CSA Individual Squash national champion, the first ever from Columbia. He was also named the Ivy League player of the year for the second consecutive season,and became the first Lion to win it twice. The junior went 15-1 in the regular season, and helped Columbia reach No. 2 in the national ranks the season, the highest ranking in program history. 

Columbia also introduced a Rookie of the Year award, given to one male and one female student-athlete who demonstrates superior athletic ability during their first academic year. The inaugural winners were Sam Moelis (fencing) and Chichi Ikwuazom (volleyball).

Moelis burst onto the scene in men's foil this season, posting a 35-15 overall record on his way to taking gold at the NCAA Northeast Regional. He was the sole freshman on Columbia's NCAA squad and went on to earn second team All-America honors after finishing fifth at the NCAA Championships. The Long Island native also helped Columbia win its four consecutive men's Ivy League Championship in February.

Ikwuazom led the Ivy League in hitting percentage and total blocks to not only become Columbia's first Ivy League Rookie of the Year, but the program's only first-year to land First Team All-Ivy League honors. The rookie sensation also posted a 1.37 blocks-per-set average, ranking 28th nationally, which included a league-best 25 block solos.

The event also featured the presentation of the Athletics Alumni Award to Peter Leone '83CC and Rachel Flax Kaplan '03CC.

The watch award presentations for the Columbia senior student-athletes earning the highest cumulative grade-point averages and at least two varsity letters. Judy Zhou (archery) earned the Marion R. Philips Watch and Daniel Hong (men's tennis) earned the Dwight D. Eisenhower watch.

In addition, the seventh annual Lions Cup was awarded to the . The Lions Cup is a competitive event for all Columbia University varsity sports programs that is a means by which student-athletes can compete on behalf of their teams for points in various categories.

The men's golf team earned the Paul E. Fernandes Community Service Award, given to the varsity sports program achieving the most significant contributions and notable service to the University and local communities during an academic year.

Varsity C Celebration 2016-17 Awards

Fall Sports

Men's Cross Country
Cross Country Award – Jack Boyle '17CC

Women's Cross Country
Kathy Shiels Memorial Award – Henna Rustami '17CC

Field Hockey
Field Hockey Award – Katie Ruesterholz '17CC
Lion Pride Award – Rebecca Bard '17CC

David W. Smyth Football Cup – Christian Conway '17CC
Phil Fusco Memorial Award – Scooter Hollis '17CC
Class of 1913 Football Cup – Chris Schroer '18CC 

Women's Soccer
Ali Ahern Memorial Award – Natalie Neshat '18CC
1994 Award – Madeline Linde '17SEAS

Men's Soccer
Rocco B. Commisso Award – Alex Bangerl '18CC
Soccer Alumni Award – Arthur Bosua '18CC
Vorkas Award – Dylan Castanheira '18CC

Volleyball Award – Cassie Wes '17CC & Chichi Ikwuazom '20CC

Winter Sports

Men's Basketball
Raymond J. Fullerton Memorial Award – Luke Petrasek '17CC
Walter H. Bernson Memorial Award – Peter Barba '19CC
Jason Wachob Award – Conor Voss '17SEAS
Feinberg Family Award – Kendall Jackson '17CC
Sheldon B. Preschel Basketball Memorial Award – Chris McComber '17CC

Women's Basketball
Most Valuable Player Award – Camille Zimmerman '17CC

Men's Fencing
James Murray Memorial Trophy – Porter Hesslegrave '18CC
Kestler Award – Nolen Scruggs '19CC

Women's Fencing
Women's Fencing Award — Margaret Lu '17CC
Kestler Award — Iman Blow '19CC

Men's Squash
Men's Squash Award — Seif Attia '18CC

Women's Squash
Women's Squash Award — Tanvi Khanna '18CC
Torrey Citizenship Award – Maya Patel '17SEAS

Women's Swimming & Diving
Women's Swimming Award — Mary Ashby '19CC
Tina Steck Award — Jennifer Shahar '17CC

Men's Swimming & Diving
Herbert E. Vollmer Memorial Award — Jayden Pantel '18CC & Michal Zyla" href="" data-mce-href="">Michal Zyla '18CC
Jim Stallman Memorial Award — Nian-Guo Liu" href="" data-mce-href="">Nian-Guo Liu '20CC
Edward T. Kennedy Memorial Prize — Connor Fraser '17CC

Gus Peterson Memorial Trophy — Austin Coniker '17CC
Jonathan P. Gross Memorial Award — Michael Bulkin '20CC

Spring Sports (Majority of winners will be determined after conclusion of spring season)

Women's Tennis
Women's Tennis Award — Vivian Cheng '17CC

Men's Golf
William Terminello Award - Joshua Suh '18CC

Women's Golf
William Terminello Award - Jackie Chulya '17CC