ORLANDO, Fla.—Former Columbia University Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Dr. M. Dianne Murphy was honored Wednesday afternoon by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics as part of its 2017 Hall of Fame Class.

Announced in May, the list of inductees includes: Mike Alden, University of Missouri; Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, Columbia University; C.M. Newton, University of Kentucky; Tim Selgo, Grand Valley State University; Randy Spetman, Florida State University; and Max Urick, Kansas State University.

The honorees received their awards at NACDA's 52nd Annual Convention at the Learfield Directors' Cup Luncheon, located at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, Columbia University
Dr. M. Dianne Murphy presided over one of the most successful periods in Columbia University Athletics history during her 11-year tenure (2004-15). She also served as the University Advisor on Athletics Issues until retiring from Columbia where she joined The PICTOR Group as a senior partner.

A prominent and active administrator on the national collegiate athletics landscape, Murphy was named to the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee in February 2011 and completed her five year term in September 2016. She also developed an elite leadership-training program for college women's basketball coaches, The Center for Coaching Excellence, in conjunction with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA). 

Columbia teams excelled during her tenure, winning a total of 30 Ivy League titles in 11 different sports. Murphy also spearheaded the creation of the Columbia Athletics Hall of Fame. A steward of leadership initiatives, Murphy created the Leaders for Life program in 2008, designed to provide comprehensive leadership training to student-athletes. In 2012, Murphy created the First-Year Transition Program, for incoming student-athletes.

Murphy came to Columbia after six years as director of athletics and recreation at the University of Denver, where she led the Pioneers' program from NCAA Division II to one of the nation's top Division I athletics programs. Under Murphy's leadership, eight Denver teams made NCAA tournament appearances and, on four occasions, Denver teams won a national title. She was named Athletics Director of the Year by NACDA in 2003-04. 

Prior to Denver, Murphy served as associate athletics director at Cornell University from 1995-98. From 1988-95, she was the assistant athletics director at the University of Iowa. Murphy began her athletics administrative career in 1987-88 as the assistant athletics director at Kentucky State University.

Before becoming an athletics administrator, Murphy coached basketball for 13 years. She was the head women's basketball coach at Shorter College (1973-76), Florida State University (1976-79) and Eastern Kentucky University (1979-86). Murphy holds a Ph.D. in administration and curriculum from Florida State (1980), and master's (1973) and bachelor's (1972) degrees from Tennessee Technological University. The Tennessee Tech Alumni Association honored her with its 2005 Distinguished Alumna Award. Florida State presented her with its Grad Made Good award at its 2005 Homecoming.

About NACDA: NACDA, now in its 52nd year, is the professional and educational Association for more than 15,700 college athletics administrators at more than 1,700 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 6,500 athletics administrators annually attend NACDA & Affiliates Convention Week. Additionally, NACDA manages 17 professional associations and three foundations. For more information on NACDA, visit www.nacda.com.