NORMAN, Okla.—The Columbia men’s golf team earned All-Academic Team honors by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Wednesday.


Columbia was one of 187 teams at all collegiate levels to submit a grade point average of 3.0 or higher. A total of 39 teams nationwide received President’s Special Recognition status for having team grade point averages of 3.5 or better. To be eligible for GCAA All-Academic Team honors, a college or university must submit the GPAs for each player on its official squad list for the academic year.


In 2017-18, Columbia returns six letterwinners including seniors Joshua Suh and Curtis Chan, junior Sunny Yan and sophomores Nick Brisebois, Cullen Chung and 2017 Ivy League Rookie of the Year Jeremy Perna. Four newcomers join the roster including Arjun Puri, John Robertson, Dan Terrell and John Youn Sung Kim. Five players graduate from the program.


Since taking over the men’s program in 2005, head coach Rich Mueller has guided Columbia men’s golf to four Ivy League team championships, three individual Ivy League championships, five NCAA post-season appearances and 25 All-Ivy League individual golf performances.