KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Columbia’s Arthur Bosua was named a semifinalist for the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy, announced today by the United Soccer Coaches.

Bosua is among the field of 15 other semifinalists hoping to receive the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I Soccer. The MAC Hermann Trophy has been awarded annually since 1967, and is voted on by the NCAA D-I soccer coaches.

"What a tribute to all the hard work that he, the senior class, and all of his teammates have put into the last four years, especially during the 2017 season," said head coach Kevin Anderson.

Three men’s finalists and three women’s finalists will be named on Dec. 8 in conjunction with the Men’s College Cup semifinals in Philadelphia. The 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 5, 2018 to formally announce the two winners.

During the 2017 season, Bosua helped Columbia return to the NCAA Men’s Soccer Tournament for the first time since 1993. The 6-4 forward was named the Ivy League Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight year, helping the Lions to a 12-3-3 overall record and an NCAA Tournament win over William & Mary, before Columbia fell 1-0 on a penalty kick goal in the closing minutes at No. 1 Wake Forest.

The Johannesburg, South Africa, native led the conference in goals with 12 and points with 29, moving up to seventh in the school record book in both categories. Bosua scored a career-high four goals during a 6-0 rout of Harvard on Nov. 5, earning Ivy League Player of the Week accolades in the process. On the season, Bosua had four games with three or more points, and is currently ranked 15th in the country with 1.61 points per game.

Columbia does have a history with the MAC Hermann Award, as Amr Aly was the 1984 honoree.

MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Name Yr. Pos. School Hometown
John Bakero Sr. F Wake Forest Sitges, Spain
Tucker Bone Jr. M Air Force Granite Bay, Calif.
Arthur Bosua Sr. F Columbia Johannesburg, South Africa 
Brandon Bye Sr. F Western Michigan  Portage, Mich.
Mauro Cichero Sr. M SMU Norman, Okla.
Jon Gallagher Sr. F Notre Dame Dundalk, Ireland
Tomas Hilliard-Arce  Sr. D Stanford Matthews, N.C.
Tim Kubel Sr. D Louisville Stuttgart, Germany
Foster Langsdorf Sr. F Stanford Vancouver, Wash.
Grant Lilliard Sr. D Indiana Hinsdale, Ill.
Cameron Lindley Sr. M UNC Carmel, Ind.
Joao Moutinho Fr. D Akron Lisbon, Portugal
Wyatt Omsberg Sr. D Dartmouth Scarborough, Maine
Santiago Patino Jr. F FIU Orlando, Fla.
Alan Winn Sr. F UNC Garland, Texas