SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — Columbia senior Camille Zimmerman has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2018 Katrina McClain Award, recognizing the best power forward in women’s NCAA Div. I college basketball. The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, in conjunction with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), announced its 10 finalists Thursday afternoon.


Zimmerman leads the Ivy League in points per game (20.2), total points (383), field goals made (137), free throws made (101), total rebounds (171) and double-doubles (9). Nationally, she ranks among the top 50 in scoring, double-doubles, free throws made and free throw percentage (.863). The Tempe, Arizona, native has been named Ivy League Player of the Week three times, including this past week when she went for 23 points (8-14 FG), 13 rebounds and six assists to lead Columbia to a victory at Cornell. She has scored at least 20 points in 12 of the team's 19 games this season, including six with at least 25.


Zimmerman became Columbia women’s basketball’s all-time scoring leader in November and also holds program records in field goals (661) and free throw percentage (.822). She went on to pass Leonard “Buck” Jenkins for the University’s all-time scoring record of 1,767 points in mid-January. Last Saturday, she became one of the top-10 scorers in Ivy League women’s basketball history and now has 1,791 career points. The 6-1 threat also ranks among the Ivy League’s top 10 in career scoring average (17.4) and field goals.


The 10 finalists for the Katrina McClain Award also include Lauren Cox (Baylor), Kristine Anigwe (Cal), Napheesa Collier (UConn), Caliya Robinson (Georgia), Myisha Hines-Allen (Louisville), Stephanie Mavunga (Ohio State), Ruthy Hebard (Oregon), Bella Alarie (Princeton) and Maria Jesperson (South Florida). Players can play their way onto or off of the list at any point during the 2017-18 season.


Named after the two-time All-American, 1987 National Player of the Year and 2012 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalists to determine the Naismith Starting 5 at www.hoophallawards.com.


The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA’s community of coaches to the best player in college women’s basketball.


For more information on the 2018 Katrina McClain Award, visit www.hoophallawards.com.


2018 Katrina McClain Award Finalists

Lauren Cox - Baylor

Kristine Anigwe - California

Camille Zimmerman - Columbia

Napheesa Collier - Connecticut

Caliya Robinson - Georgia

Myisha Hines-Allen – Louisville

Stephanie Mavunga – Ohio State

Ruthy Hebard - Oregon

Bella Alarie - Princeton

Maria Jesperson - South Florida