NEW YORK—Sponsored by the Columbia Football Players Club, the Columbia Football program will celebrate its outstanding 2017 football season with its annual awards banquet Saturday evening at Low Library. Former Columbia football standout and current New York Jets linebacker Josh Martin ‘13CC will serve as emcee for the event.


The event begins with a welcome reception at 6 p.m. followed by the banquet program featuring highlight videos and dinner at 7 p.m. in Low Library Rotunda. Parents, guests and campus partners will be in attendance. Patricia and Shepard Alexander Head Coach of Football Al Bagnoli, along with all nine assistant coaches will present each of the 12 individual awards.


For the first time-ever, the event will have an emcee in Martin. Martin completed his fifth year in the NFL with the New York Jets as he made 43 total tackles (28 solo) and 1.5 sacks in nine starts and 14 games in 2017. An Aurora, Colo. native, Martin has seen NFL action with the New York Jets (2015-17), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2015) and Kansas City Chiefs (2013-14). In his five-year NFL career, Martin has made 84 combined tackles (57 solo) and 2.5 sacks. A three-time All-Ivy League player 2010-12, Martin ranks among Columbia all-time leaders in career sacks (2nd all-time, 18.0), career yards from sacks (1st with 118), career tackles for loss (ninth, 25.0), career quarterback hurries (1st, 14), career fumble recoveries (6th, 5) and game sacks (1st, 3.0 sacks two times). In his collegiate career, Martin made 140 tackles (85 solo), 25.0 tackles for loss and 18 sacks, forced two fumbles and recovered five fumbles.


In 2017, the Columbia program experienced its best season in 21 years. An 8-2 regular season, a second place finish in the Ivy League and a 5-2 Ivy League record highlighted the campaign. Along the way, it was the Lions’ resiliency, toughness and work ethic that captured the attention of their fans, the New York City media and national media members alike.


In addition, Columbia will honor its senior class which includes Collin Breckenridge (DL), Marcus Briscoe (TE), Clay Caruso (LB), Zach Dansby (TE), Turner DeMuth (LB), Pat Denny (OL), David Donovan (TE), Connor Heeb (DL), Anders Hill (QB), Denzel Hill (DB), Alexander Holme (DL), Denzel Hill (DB), Tyler Holmes (DB), Lord Hyeamang (DL), Michael McGrath (OL), Charles Melka (DL), Dominic Perkovic (DL), Bailey Popeck (TE), Cameron Roane (DB), Benjamin Robbins (OL), Chris Schroer (RB), Reid Stables (OL), Liam Talty (DL), Parker Thome (P), Parker Tobia (LB), Ian Tyler (DL), Bewley Wales (OL), Greg Washington (DL), Dylan Weldon (DB) and Noah Zgrablich (PK/P).


2017 seniors Landon Baty (DB), Charlie Flores (OL) and Markham Paukune (OL) will all return to the roster for a final year in 2018. Baty, Anders Hill, Hyeamang and Wales served as 2017 team captains.


A total of 12 awards will be presented. Those awards include:

Sid Luckman Most Valuable Player Award

Most Valuable Offensive Player

Most Valuable Defensive Player

David W. Smyth Memorial Cup

Head Coach Career Achievement Award

Special Teams Award

Ken Gerrmann Freshman of the Year Award

Jack Armstrong Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award

Maniatty-Remmer Unsung Hero Award

Lou Little Coaches Most Improved Award

John J. Cirigliano Ironman Award

Phil Fusco Award