2018 Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association Championships 
Saturday & Sunday, March 3-4 | 11 AM (sat.), 10 AM (Sun.) | HOFSTRA University
Ivy League

NEW YORK - The Columbia wrestling team will head to Hofstra's Mack Sports & Exhibition Complex for the 2018 EIWA Championships, starting Saturday. 

The 114th edition of the tournament will be hosted by the Pride, who welcome the 15 other schools in the conference. Day one gets under way Saturday, March 3, with the semifinal and final matches extending to the following day.


  Saturday, March 3   Sunday, March 4
Session I 11 am: Championship 1st Round Session III 10 am: Semifinals
  2:15 pm: 1st Round Wrestlebacks   11:45 am: Wrestleback Semifinals
Session II 6 pm: Championship Quarterfinals   12:35 pm: 7th Place Matches
  7:30 pm: Wrestleback Quarterfinals Session IV 3 pm: 1st, 3rd & 5th Place Matches

Fans unable to attend the event can watch both days of the tournament on FloWrestling.

Tyrel White and Garrett Ryan earned automatic bids to the NCAA Wrestling Championships, as White finished fourth at 165, and Ryan became Columbia's first EIWA Champion since 2013, taking the heavyweight title. Columbia finished in 12th place overall in 2017, tallying a total of 50 points.

Along with White and Ryan, the Lions make it three returning NCAA Qualifiers, as Markus Scheidel is back after sitting out last season. The trio have all qualified for the NCAA Championships during their first three years, and have impressed this season.

The senior heavyweight, Ryan, leads the Lions with 27 wins during the 2017-18 campaign, with White (174) close behind at 21. Scheidel is the tops on the team in winning percentage, going 15-2 (.882) at 157. Both Ryan and Scheidel enter the weekend with identical No. 15 rankings from Intermat.

On Thursday, March 1, the EIWA announced the pre-seeds for the tournament. The top 10-11 wrestlers in each weight class were ranked during the pre-seeding, with the Coaches meeting on Friday afternoon determining the full seeding. A list of the Columbia seeds are below:

133 - No. 11 Chris Scorese
149 - No. 8(T) Jacob Macalolooy
157 - No. 2 Markus Scheidel
174 - No. 5 Tyrel White
HWT - No. 3 Garrett Ryan

On Feb. 23, the NCAA announced the qualifier allocations for the eight D-I Wrestling conferences. Below are the EIWA auto-bids that are up for grabs this weekend.

WT 125 133 141 149 157 165 174 184 197 HWT
Bids 1 3 4 4 6 6 5 6 6 5