LEONIA, N.J - The Columbia lightweight rowing team hopes to continue building momentum into the second half of the season with races against No. 4 Yale and No. 7 Penn this Saturday at Overpeck Park.  It will be a packed morning of racing, as the heavyweight rowing team will be vying for the Blackwell Cup with No. 2 Yale and No. 14 Penn. 

The lightweight fourth varsity eight will start off the day of racing at 9 a.m in its first race of the season. All racing will be broadcast on the Ivy League Network.

The Marcellus Hartley Dodge Cup was established in 1955 and is raced annually between Columbia, Yale, and Penn. Yale has the most wins with 39, followed by the Quakers with 15 total victories. The Lions last won the trophy in 2015 and have just two wins since 2003.

Columbia comes into this race ranked No. 1 in the nation in the latest USRowing Coaches Poll. Last Sunday, the Lions swept No. 10 Georgetown and were narrowly edged by No. 2 Harvard in the varsity eight, but were able to come away with a win in the second varsity.

No. 4 Yale comes off a successful defense of the Joy Cup against Georgetown and MIT last weekend. The Bulldogs swept all three races on the Charles.

No. 7 Penn is coming off a pair of losses to Cornell and Harvard in Ithaca last weekend. The Quakers lost the Mathews Trophy, determined by the winner of the Varsity race against Cornell, as well as the Leonard Point Cup, which is also contested with Cornell. Harvard came away with wins in all four races.

Last year on the Housatonic, the Bulldogs came away with victories in the Varsity and second varsity eight. The Lions were edged by Penn in the varsity eight, but were able to come away with a win in the second varsity eight.

9 a.m. – Fourth Varsity Eight
9:15 a.m. – Third Varsity Eight
9:45 a.m. – Second Varsity Eight
10:15 a.m. – Varsity Eight

Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Bella Zionts, Stroke: Alexandros Zisimidis, 7: Maxwell Amsterdam, 6: Ben Landis, 5: Torrance Smith, 4: Gavin Southerland, 3: Sebastian Krappe, 2: Jenson Carlgren, Bow: Levi Beckett

Second Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Judy Liu, Stroke: Jim Stewart, 7: John Maloney, 6: Kevin Borup, 5: John Robison, 4: Lukas Geiger, 3: Jeff Monahan, 2: George Patterson, Bow: Jan Overmeer

Third Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Biao Huan Foo, Stroke: Constantino Khoury, 7: Ricardo Pantaleon, 6: Brooks Ralph, 5: Alexander Milewski, 4: Aiden Norder, 3: Lorenzo Frati, 2: Owen Cordaro, Bow: Jeffrey Hou

Fourth Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Valentina Rojas-Posada, Stroke: Jorge Gonzalez, 7: Navin Kelzer, 6: Ryan Watt, 5: Colin Conroy, 4: Devin Zuccherino, 3: Spencer James, 2: Colm Feeney, Bow: Oliver Jennings