LEONIA, N.J. - The Columbia heavyweight rowing team will face No. 2 Yale and No. 14 Penn for the Blackwell Cup at home this Saturday in an exciting morning of racing. The Lions’ lightweights will also be competing at home in the Dodge Cup against No. 7 Penn and No. 4 Yale. 

Racing for the Heavyweights will begin at 9:30 a.m. with the third varsity eight. All racing will be streamed on the Ivy League Digital Network.

The Blackwell Cup is awarded in honor of George Engs Blackwell, an 1880 graduate of Columbia.  The cup has been contested between Columbia, Penn, and Yale since 1927, with Yale tallying the most wins overall with 45 total victories. The Lions last won the race in 2009.

The No. 17 Lions come into this weekend after losing a trio of races to Princeton in the Childs Cup last weekend. The Lions were able to come away with a victory in the second varsity against Penn, but were edged by the Quakers in the varsity eight.

No. 2 Yale will be looking to retain the Blackwell Cup after overcoming rough conditions last weekend in a four-race sweep of No. 8 Dartmouth on the Housatonic.  The Bulldogs kept the Olympic Axe in Gilder Boathouse for another year with a win in the varsity eight.

The No. 14 Quakers dropped two races to Princeton last weekend on Lake Carnegie, but were able to narrowly defeat the Lions in the varsity race.

Last year Yale came away with dominant wins in all three boat classes, notching their eighth consecutive win in the race and their 45th overall.

9:30 a.m. – Third Varsity Eight
10 a.m. – Second Varsity Eight
10:30 a.m. – Varsity Eight

Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Mihir Gulati, Stroke: Will Taylor, 7: Matt Ryan, 6: Alex Hedge, 5: John Tanguay, 4: Ryan Lee, 3: Kyle Fram, 2: Joe Starc, Bow: Tom Mortimer

Second Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Caroline Hurley, Stroke: Ian Low, 7: Maxim Zwarycz, 6: Nick Edwards, 5: Kirill Buskirk, 4: Frank Baring, 3: Sean Aral, 2: Noah Ross, Bow: Ivan Perdomo

Third Varsity Eight
Coxswain: Claire Hall-Tipping, Stroke: John Sluis, 7: Chris Magnani, 6: Alex Kutner, 5: William Randolph, 4: Will Ryan, 3: Andrew Sizemore, 2: Niko Savas, Bow: Riley Marsh