NEW YORK – Today, Columbia University Athletics has announced the finalists for the William V. Campbell Performer of the Year. The award goes to one male and one female student-athlete, who demonstrates superior athletic ability during the academic year. The award is named after Bill Campbell '62CC '64TC.

The winners will be announced at the 96th Annual Varsity C Celebration on Wednesday, May 3, at 7:30 p.m. This year's finalists are:

William V. Campbell Male Performer of the Year

Arthur Bosua - Soccer

Shawn Hadavi - Tennis

Randell Kanemaru - Baseball

Osama Khalifa - Squash

Jayden Pantel - Diving


William V. Campbell Female Performer of the Year 

Madison Gott - Softball

Margaret Lu - Fencing

Henna Rustami - Track & Field

Cassie Wes - Volleyball

Camille Zimmerman - Basketball


Yesterday, Columbia announced the 10 finalists for the inaugural Rookie of the Year. The following student-athletes were selected:

Vana Markarian - Soccer
Liam McGill - Baseball
Oren Milstein - Football
Sam Moelis - Fencing
Jeremy Perna - Golf

Ridhima Dilawari - Golf
Sommer Grzybek - Softball
ChiChi Ikwuazom - Volleyball
Amalya Johnson - Soccer
Sophia Strachan - Archery

Check back on and on the Varsity C Celebration Facebook Event page for the Maniatty Award finalists.

Planning for this year's Celebration was done in conjunction with a Student-Athlete Planning Committee consisting of Rima Asatrian (Women's Tennis), Maddie Gott (Softball), Meredith Kalberer (Field Hockey), Lindsey Mendelson (Women's Tennis), Natalie Neshat (Women's Soccer), George Patterson (Lightweight Rowing), and Stanley Sandoval (Men's Soccer).

The Committee was charged to plan new, special ways to celebrate Columbia's incredible student-athletes. The Celebration will welcome back ESPN college basketball analyst Dalen Cuff '06CC as the Master of Ceremonies and the location of this year's Celebration has been moved from Levien Gymnasium to the Roone Arledge Auditorium in Lerner Hall

The Celebration is free for student-athletes, coaches, and Athletics staff. Additional tickets can be purchased online by clicking here. Event sponsorship and ticket sales are directed to the Fund for Excellence, which supports all of our student-athletes and the funding for this event. Contact Maggie Johnson at for information on sponsorship opportunities.

Check back on and on the Varsity C Celebration Facebook Event page for announcements regarding student-athlete award nominees for the Campbell and Maniatty Awards.