NEW YORK - The Columbia baseball team selected its 2017 award winners last week. The five honors are selected by a team vote. This year's winners are:

Lou Gehrig Most Valuable Player – Randell Kanemaru
Kanemaru was selected Ivy League Player of the Year after hitting .395 with seven homers and 42 RBI.

CY Young- Josh Simpson
The sophomore lefthander recorded a team-high four victories and 38 strikeouts.

Mr. Hustle- Lucas Hall
Hall, one of nine Lions' nominated, took the honor for his effort while recovering from an injury.


Joseph P. Allen Memorial Award - Ryan Marks
The Allen Award is presented to the player who has made the greatest contribution to the team in terms of inspirational leadership, sportsmanship, and team and college loyalty. Marks, named one of four captains, recorded a 3.75 ERA in 12 appearances out of the bullpen.

Rookie of the Year- Liam McGill
McGill hit .338 with four homers and 25 RBI. His on-base percentage of .461 was second in the Ivy League.


Core Values Award - Ty Wiest
Wiest came back from Tommy John Surgery and made nine starts. He went 2-3 with a 4.32 ERA and was second on the team with 35 strikeouts in 41.2 innings.