NEW YORK – Seniors Harrison McFann of men’s track and field and Michelle Piyapattra of women’s golf were each presented the Connie S. Maniatty Outstanding Senior Student-Athlete Awards to highlight the 93rd edition of the Varsity C Celebration: Saluting our Student-Athletes at Levien Gymnasium on Tuesday night.

McFann is a three-time All-American, receiving those honors twice in the outdoor 800-meter run (honorable mention in 2012, second team in 2013) and once with the distance medley relay team after a fifth place finish at the NCAA Indoor Championships this past winter.

He also has three Ivy League titles under his belt. As a sophomore, McFann ran the second leg of the winning 4x800-meter relay and won the 800-meter solo at the 2012 Outdoor Heps. Last spring, he and the rest of the 4x800 relay squad successfully defended its Ancient Eight crown. Additionally, McFann holds the school record in the 800-meter run with a time of 1:47.91 set at the George Mason Spring Invitational earlier this month.

Piyapattra is arguably the best women’s golfer in program history. A three-time first team All-Ivy League selection, she has the four lowest scoring averages the school has ever seen.

Piyapattra has won six career tournaments, the most for any Columbia women’s golfer, which includes a medalist finish at the Ivy League Championships in 2011. With that monumental win, she became just the second women’s golfer to accomplish that feat as a first-year and second Lion to take first at the conference championships.

The Corona, Calif., native showed no signs of a sophomore slump, earning Ivy League Player of the Year honors, with a program record scoring average of 74.73 and Piyapattra would go on to compete at the NCAA Regionals. This season, she led the squad with a 75.14 scoring average and placed fourth at the Ivy League Championships.

The event, which honors all Columbia student-athletes, also featured the presentation of the Athletics Alumni Awards to Susan K. Feagin ’74GS and Thomas Cornacchia ’85CC.

The watch award presentations for the Columbia senior student-athletes earning the highest cumulative grade-point averages and at least two varsity letters. Danielle Cosentino (field hockey) earned the Marion R. Philips Watch and Michael Attal (men’s soccer) earned the Dwight D. Eisenhower watch.

In addition, the sixth annual Lions Cup was awarded to the women’s rowing team for the second consecutive year. A competitive event for all Columbia University varsity sports programs that is a means by which student-athletes can compete on behalf of their teams for points in various categories.

The men's squash team earned the Paul E. Fernandes Community Service Award, given to the varsity sports program achieving the most significant contributions and notable service to the University and local communities during an academic year.

Varsity C Celebration 2013-14 Awards

Alumni Athletic Award – Thomas Cornacchia ’85CC (heavyweight rowing) and Susan K. Feagin ’74GS
Dwight D. Eisenhower Watch – Michael Attal ’14CC (men’s soccer)
Marion R. Philips Watch – Danielle Cosentino ’14CC (field hockey)

Connie S. Maniatty Outstanding Senior Athlete Award

Male – Harrison McFann ’14CC (men’s track & field)
Female – Michelle Piyapattra ’14CC (women’s golf)

Fall Sports

Men’s Cross Country
Cross Country Award – Nicolas Composto ’14CC

Women’s Cross Country
Kathy Shiels Memorial Award – Waverly Neer ’15CC

Field Hockey
Field Hockey Award – Lauren Skudalski ’15CC
Lion Pride Award – Liz Malone ’14CC

David W. Smyth Football Cup – Paul Delaney '14CC
Phil Fusco Memorial Award – Griffin Lowry '14CC
Class of 1913 Football Cup – Wells Childress '14CC

Women’s Soccer
Ali Ahern Memorial Award – Beverly Leon '14CC
1994 Award – Natalie Melo '14CC

Men’s Soccer
Rocco B. Commisso Award – David Westlake ’14CC
Soccer Alumni Award – Andrew Tinari ’17CC
Vorkas Award – David Najem ’14CC

Volleyball Award – Bailey Springer ’16CC

Winter Sports

Men’s Basketball
Raymond J. Fullerton Memorial Award – Maodo Lo ’16CC
Walter H. Bernson Memorial Award – Noah Springwater ’15CC
Jason Wachob Award – Alex Rosenberg ’15CC
Sheldon B. Preschel Basketball Memorial Award –  Noah Springwater ’15CC

Women’s Basketball
Most Valuable Player Award – Taylor Ward ’14BC
Most Inspirational Player Award – Carolyn Gallagher ’17CC

Men’s Fencing
James Murray Memorial Trophy – Michael Josephs ’15CC
Kestler Award – Geoffrey Loss ’16CC

Women’s Fencing
Women’s Fencing Award — Nzingha Prescod ’15CC
Kestler Award — Jackie Dubrovich ’16CC

Men's Squash
Men's Squash Award — Ramit Tandon ’15CC
Klimley Award — Andrew Tan ’14SEAS

Women's Squash
Women's Squash Award — Leah Barnet ’16CC

Women’s Swimming & Diving
Women’s Swimming Award — Alena Kluge ’14CC
Tina Steck Award — Grace Senko ’14CC

Men’s Swimming & Diving
Herbert E. Vollmer Memorial Award — David Jakl ’15CC
Jim Stallman Memorial Award — Jack Foster ’17CC
Edward T. Kennedy Memorial Prize — Alex Ngan ’15CC

Gus Peterson Memorial Trophy — Matt Bystol ’14CC
Jonathan P. Gross Memorial Award — Zack Hernandez ’16CC

Spring Sports (Majority of winners will be determined after conclusion of spring season)

Men's Golf
William Terminello Award — Brandon Jowers ’15SEAS

Women's Golf
William Terminello Award — Michelle Piyapattra ’14CC

Women’s Lacrosse
Adrian Walters Award — Taylor Quinn ’17CC

Men’s Heavyweight Rowing
Richard Goodridge Jackson Memorial Prize — Clemens Auersperg ’14CC

Softball Award – Kayla Shimoda ’15CC
Carol Dodge Award – Emily Snodgrass ’14CC 

Men's Tennis
Jeremiah Courtney Tennis Cup — Winston Lin ’15CC

Women's Tennis
Women's Tennis Award — Bianca Sanon ’14CC

Men’s Track & Field
Harrison K. Bird Award — Brendon Fish ’15CC
Gustave A. Jaeger Memorial Prize – Tim Cousins ‘14CC

Women's Track & Field
Steven N. Chait Award — Trina Bills ’14CC
Women's Track & Field Award — Nadia Eke ’15CC