EVANSTON, Ill. – Led by junior Shane Hughes’ four victories, the Columbia wrestling team concluded day one of the 51st Ken Kraft Midlands Championship in eighth place.

“Solid first day from our guys,” commented Andrew F. Barth Head Coach of Wrestling Carl Fronhofer. “I am really proud of how our guys competed in the wrestlebacks, Shane got a great win in the quarterfinals, and I am looking forwarded to tomorrow’s action.”

Hughes earned a spot in the 174-pound semifinals with a dramatic sudden victory win over the third-ranked Elliot Riddick from Lehigh. Hughes toppled Riddick, 4-2, SV-1, and will look to earn a spot in the finals against Southern Oregon’s Brock Gutches.

At 157 pounds, Chad Ryan reached the quarterfinals with a pin in just 1:17 against the fifth-seeded Zac Brunson from Illinois, but fell to No. 4 Isaac Jordan from Wisconsin in his next bout and will begin day two in the wrestleback draw.

In the same weight class, Markus Scheidel will continue onto day two in the wrestlebacks following a 4-3 decision over Brown’s Justin Staudenmayer. The eighth-seeded John Greisheimer from Edinboro is up next for Scheidel.

Josh Houldsworth went head-to-head with the top-seeded Steven Monk from North Dakota State in the quarterfinals, but suffered a tough 1-0 defeat. Houldsworth will take on Harvard’s Devon Gobbo in his first wrestleback match Monday.

After falling in the round of 16 of the 184-pound championship bracket, Zack Hernandez remains alive for day two after posting a pair of victories in the wrestlebacks. Mark Fiala of Nebraska-Kearney first went down to Hernandez in an 8-1 decision, and then the Columbia sophomore pinned Luther’s Jayden DeVilbiss in 1:49. Hernandez will take on Edinboro’s Vic Avery in session three’s wrestlebacks.

Penn Gottfried also recorded a pair of wins in the wrestlebacks of the 125-pound bracket. An 11-4 decision against Northern Illinois Braun Marquez was followed by a 7-6 victory over the 10th-seeded Camden Eppert from Purdue. Gottfried will take on No. 6 Robert Duetsch to begin day two on Monday.

Competition continues Monday at 1 p.m. eastern on the campus of Northwestern University.