Cross Country Sweeps Opponents at Mets; Feigen Wins Individual Title
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics/Casey Snedecor
NEW YORK – Columbia cross country sophomore Mark Feigen won the men’s 8k race at the 2010 Metropolitan Championships, as both the men and women won the team races. For the women, it was their 13th straight title at the event, while the men won their third straight, and the 12th in the past 15 years.

The men dominated the event, coming in first with 17 points, more than 50 points ahead of their nearest opponent. The Lions took all four of the top spots and seventh place, just two points away from a perfect score. Sophomore Mark Feigen led the way for Columbia, as he dominated in the final stretch, coming in first place with a ten-second barrier between him and the field. Feigen crosseed the finish line in 25:46, becoming the ninth Columbia male to win the event, and the second Columbia athlete to win a race at Mets in the last two years, as senior Jacqueline Drouin won the women’s race in 2009. Feigen was followed by three of his teammates, who sped up in the last 100 yards to beat two opponents and finish in a row. Sophomore Patrick DeSabato came in second place, followed by sophomore Leighton Spencer in third and first-year John Gregorek in fourth place. First-year Byron Jones was the last to score for the Lions, as he came in seventh place overall.

On the women’s side, Columbia won for the 13th year in a row, led by a group of seniors. Senior Alexandra Crawley was the top finisher for the Lions, as she took fourth overall with a time of 18:37. First-year Emma Giantisco was next for Columbia in sixth, while seniors Hannah Kligman and Samantha Casale Lee finished back to back in ninth and tenth. Senior Jillian Goodwin came in 12th overall, rounding out the top five.

“I am very pleased with the performance of our runners today,” Director of Cross Country/Track & Field Willy Wood said. “Our women were able to win their 13th straight, and the men won their third straight Metropolitan championship titles, despite holding out our top 12 men and 10 women.”

Up next for the Lions is the annual Pre-Nationals tune up, which will take place in Terre Haute, Ind., Saturday, October 16 at 11 a.m.

Columbia Men’s Cross Country – First place, 17 points

1. Mark Feigen, 25:46. 2. Patrick DeSabato, 25:56. 3. Leighton Spencer, 25:58. 4. John Gregorek, 26:01. 7. Byron Jones, 26:06. 15. Joe Kotran, 26:31. 16. Gary Brownell, 26:36. 17. Evan Tsembelis, 26:38. 19. Andy Buchanan, 26:41. 23. Thomas Sanderson, 26:54. 25. Blake Cowan, 26:59. 28. Paul Corcoran, 27:02. 33. Erik Ndikamana, 27:10. 35. Paul Snyder, 27:17. 35. Paul Snyder, 27:17. 36. Raul Silva, 27:19. 43. Matthew Casey, 27:33. 59. Timothy Cousins, 28:07.

Columbia Women’s Cross Country – First place, 41 points

4. Alexandra Crawley, 18:37. 6. Emma Giantisco, 18:45. 8. Hannah Kligman, 18:49. 9. Samantha Casale Lee, 18:52. 12. Jillian Goodwin, 19:11. 17. Patricia Reilly, 19:25. 19. Caroline Williams, 19:26. 20. Alexis Schustrom, 19:30. 21. Danika Simonson, 19:31. 23. Sophia Harrington, 19:33. 24. Laura Vigilante, 19:34. 34. Sarah Eagan, 19:48. 36. Chelsea Carrick, 19:51. 67. Anika Wilson, 21:03. 96. Trina Bills, 22:00.