SKILLMAN, N.J. – Columbia tennis continues to make 2014 a season to remember, as head coaches Bid Goswami and Ilene Weintraub were named the ITA Northeast Coaches of the Year, as announced by the ITA Tuesday, May 13.

In her seventh season at the helm of the women’s tennis program, Weintraub has turned Columbia into a consistent Ivy League power. One year removed from the program’s first conference championship, Weintraub led the Lions to their highest national ranking (No. 27) midway through the 2014 season. A 16-4 record, and a No. 38 ranking at the conclusion of the regular season, earned Columbia its first at-large selection ever to the NCAA Tournament where it challenged No. 32 Kentucky in a full-throttle battle for four hours, before falling narrowly, 4-2.

Columbia was dominant on its home court this spring, posting a 10-1 mark at the Dick Savitt Tennis Center. Unafraid to play any opponent, Columbia played nine matches against ranked foes this year, going 5-4. Individually, Columbia picked up four All-Ivy League honors this season, led by first team singles and doubles selection Kanika Vaidya.

On the men’s side, the 32nd season of Goswami’s tenure as head coach has been the best in program history. Columbia won its 11th Ivy League title in April, and ninth under Goswami, going a perfect 7-0 against the Ancient Eight. Columbia went 20-1 during the regular season and earned the No. 16 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, the highest national ranking in program history. At the Nashville Regional, Columbia breezed past East Tennessee State and then outlasted No. 19 Vanderbilt in a clash of wills for a 4-3 victory and a spot in the NCAA Sweet 16 this Friday in Georgia.

The Lions are an impressive 12-1 against ranked opponents this year, with the lone loss coming at then No. 3 Georgia in the ITA Kick-Off Classic. Since then, Columbia has won 20 straight matches and is set to play No. 1 Southern California in the Sweet 16 Friday morning. Individually, five players earned All-Ivy League accolades this season, headlined by Player of the Year, Winston Lin. Lin is the fourth Columbia player Goswami has coached to earn that honor.