Menís Tennis Drops Close Match to UT Arlington, 4-3
Courtesy: Amin Khalaf/Columbia Tennis
NEW YORK – The Columbia men’s tennis team lost a close match to the University of Texas Arlington, Friday, as the Lions won the doubles point, but UTA came back in singles to take the win, 4-3. 

The Lions had wins in the top two doubles spots to take an early lead over UTA. Sophomore Nathaniel Gery and senior Kevin Kung teamed up in the No.1 spot to beat Mindaugas Celedinas and Yauheni Yakauleu, 8-5. And Tizian Bucher and Cyril Bucher took a win in the No.2 doubles spot, beating Lucas Leppen and Brieue Hamon, 8-6. Junior Rajeev Deb-Sen and Haig Schneiderman fell in the No.3 spot, 8-3, but Columbia had the advantage, and the early 1-0 lead. 

But the Mavs came roaring out in singles, taking wins in the top four spots to end the match. Columnbia had two wins in the bottom of the lineup, and a near win at No.5 to stay in the match until the very end. 

The Mavs had straight set wins in Nos.1-3 singles. Schneiderman fell to Celedinas in the No.1 spot, 6-1, 6-3, while Cyril Bucher fell to Leppen at No.2, 7-6, 6-1. And Kung lost at No.3, 6-3, 6-4. With those quick losses, the team score was at 3-1 UTA. But the Lions got a straight set win at No.6 from Deb-Sen, as he beat Jason Lateko, 7-6, 6-3 to make it 3-2. 

The two remaining matches on the court were three set battles. Tizian Bucher tied up the match with his three set win at No.5, as he beat David Subirats, 6-0, 2-6, 6-4. And the match came down to No.4 singles, where Gery was battling it out with Erik Hiertonsson. After winning the first set, Gery then dropped the next two, eventually losing 5-7, 6-4, 6-2. 

With the loss, the Lions are now 6-7 on t he season, with a neutral site match against New Mexico State left to wrap up the road trip.

UT Arlington 4, Columbia 3

1. Nathaniel Gery/Kevin Kung (COL) def. Mindaugas Celedinas/Yauheni Yakauleu (UTA) 8-5
2. Tizian Bucher/Cyril Bucher (COL) def. Lucas Leppen/Brieuc Hamon (UTA) 8-6
3. David Subirats/Nicolas Moreno (UTA) def. Rajeev Deb-Sen/Haig Schneiderman (COL) 8-3

1. Mindaugas Celedinas (UTA) def. Haig Schneiderman (COL) 6-1, 6-3
2. Lucas Leppen (UTA) def. Cyril Bucher (COL) 7-6, 6-1
3. Yauheni Yakauleu (UTA) def. Kevin Kung (COL) 6-3, 6-4
4. Erik Hjertonsson (UTA) def. Nathaniel Gery (COL) 5-7, 6-4, 6-2
5. Tizian Bucher (COL) def. David Subirats (UTA) 6-0, 2-6, 6-4
6. Rajeev Deb-Sen (COL) def. Jason Lateko (UTA) 7-6, 6-3