NEW YORK – With the historic 2014 now at its end, the Columbia baseball team honored its top individual performers with its year-end awards.

Prior to leaving for the NCAA Regionals, head coach Brett Boretti announced the winners of the five team awards at the Alumni Luncheon on May 27.

Senior catcher Mike Fischer added Most Valuable Player honors to his growing list of accolades, while senior David Speer’s prolific career on the hill was capped with the Cy Young Award.

Ivy League Rookie of the Year Will Savage also earned the identical team award. Junior Jordan Serena and sophomore Logan Boyher were named the co-Mr. Hustles. The final award, the Joseph Allen Award, which honors a student-athletes service, dedication and community efforts, was bestowed upon senior pitcher Zack Tax.

At the NCAA Coral Gables Regional, outfielder Robb Paller was selected to the All-Regional Team, as voted on by the media members in attendance at the University of Miami. Paller batted .500 (4-for-8), drove in a run and scored once during the Lions two games in South Florida.