Henning Sauerbier Named Ivy League Men's Soccer Rookie of the Year
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics/Mike McLaughlin

NEW YORK -- Columbia first-year Henning Sauerbier became the first men's soccer player since 2001 to be named Ivy League Rookie of the Year, it was announced by the conference on Tuesday. Sauerbier was also named second team All-Ivy League, while a trio of his teammates -- juniors Ronnie Shaban and Mike Mazzullo, and first-year David Najem -- earned honorable mention recognition.

Sauerbier finished the season as the first Columbia first-year player to lead the Lions in scoring since 1980, when a trio of first-year players (Steve Sirtis, Greg Varney and Amr Aly) ranked 1-2-3 on the team in goals and points. Sauerbier had a team-high four goals in 2010, including a pair of game-winners, and finished with 10 points. Stephen Foster was last Columbia player to earn the award nine seasons ago.

The Dueren, Germany native helped the Lions to a Mayor's Cup championship in upstate New York with the first tally of a 2-0 win over Syracuse on Sept. 12, then closed out Columbia's first Ivy League victory against Dartmouth with a dramatic goal in the 89th minute.

On the season, Sauerbier was named Ivy League Rookie of the Week on three separate occasions -- Sept. 13, Oct. 4 and Oct. 25 -- and added a pair of assists in 17 matches.

Mazzullo picks up his first all-conference award after a dynamite season that saw him use his tenacity and hard work to control the midfield against all competition he faced. A co-captain for the second consecutive season, Mazzullo topped the team in minutes played with 1,578 and scored the game-winning goal against Seton Hall that sparked a three-match winning streak to close out September.

Shaban, who also earns his first all-conference nod this year, started all 17 matches in 2010 at a central defender position after playing much of his first two seasons at outside back. The Ashburn, Va. native flourished in his new role, helping the Lions to three straight Ivy League shutouts to finish the year -- the first time a Columbia team has recorded three straight conference shutouts since 1995.

Najem paired with Sauerbier to infuse the Lions with a dynamic edge in the midfield, and was not far behind his classmate in scoring. Najem finished the year ranked second on the team with nine points on three goals and three assists.

The Clifton, N.J. native registered the lone goal of a 1-0 victory over Harvard on Nov. 6, and assisted on the game-clinching goals against Seton Hall and Long Island. Najem was named conference Rookie of the Week twice over the course of the season.

Ivy League Player of the Year
F – Antoine Hoppenot, Princeton (Jr., Princeton, N.J.)

Ivy League Rookie of the Year
M – Henning Sauerbier, Columbia (Fr., Dueren, Germany)

First Team All-Ivy (11)
GK – Paul Grandstrand, Brown (Sr., Orono, Maine)
D – Tom Brandt, Penn (Jr., Palmyra, Pa.)
D – Mark Linnville, Princeton (So., Boone, N.C.)
D – Dylan Remnick, Brown (So., Inverness, Ill.)
M – Christian Barreiro, Penn (Jr., Baltimore, Md.)
M – Jason Gorskie, Penn (Sr., Marlboro, N.J.)
*M – Daniel Keat, Dartmouth (Sr., Wellington, New Zealand)
*M – Josh Walburn, Princeton (Sr., St. Louis, Mo.)
*F – Antoine Hoppenot, Princeton (Jr., Princeton, N.J.)
F – Lucky Mkosana, Dartmouth (Jr., Bulawayo, Zimbabwe)
F – Sean Rosa, Brown (Jr., Montreal, Quebec)

Second Team All-Ivy (13)
GK – Ben Berg, Penn (Sr., Whitefish Bay, Wis.)
D – Benjamin Burton, Princeton (Sr., Minneapolis, Minn.)
D – Jake Levin, Penn (Jr., Columbia, Md.)
D – Robert Millock, Harvard (Sr., Loudonville, N.Y.)
D – Teddy Schneider, Princeton (Sr., Califon, N.J.)
D – David Walls, Brown (Sr., Leeds, England)
M – Tommy McNamara, Brown (So., West Nyack, N.Y.)
M – Lester Nare, Princeton (So., Cary, N.C.)
M – Scott Prozeller, Harvard (So., Sudbury, Mass.)
M – Henning Sauerbier, Columbia (Fr., Dueren, Germany)
F – Stephen Baker, Penn (Fr., Fairport, N.Y.)
F – Brian Rogers, Harvard (So., Bronxville, N.Y.)
F – Matt Sanner, Princeton (So., Indianapolis, Ind.)

Honorable Mention All-Ivy (15)
GK – Sean Lynch, Princeton (Sr., Oceanside, N.Y.)
GK – Austin Harms, Harvard (Jr., Corona del Mar, Calif.)
D – Nick Alers, Yale (Fr., San Jose, Costa Rica)
D – Bryan Giudicelli, Dartmouth (Sr., Emerald Hills, Calif.)
D – Andy Hackbarth, Yale (Jr., Bend, Ore.)
D – Ben Kenyon, Cornell (So., Lockport, N.Y.)
D – Teo Larsson-Sax, Dartmouth (So., Kalmar, Sweden)
D – Ronnie Shaban, Columbia (Jr., Ashburn, Va.)
D – Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Fr., Colorado Springs, Colo.)
M – Evan Coleman, Brown (Jr., Amherst, Mass.)
M – Rob Medairos, Brown (Jr., Stafford, Va.)
M – Mike Mazzullo, Columbia (Jr., Yonkers, N.Y.)
M – David Najem, Columbia (Fr., Clifton, N.J.)

F – Andrew Olsen, Dartmouth (Sr., Norwell, Mass.)
F – Loukas Tasigianis, Penn (Sr., Ridgefield, N.J.)
* - unanimous selection