PRINCETON, N.J. – First-year midfielder Andrew Tinari has been selected as the Ivy League Rookie of the Year, as announced by the conference office Wednesday afternoon. Senior midfielder David Najem joined Tinari as a first-team selection, while forward Will Stamatis and goalkeeper Kyle Jackson earned spots on the second team.

Tinari becomes the eighth Lion to be recognized as Ivy League Rookie of the Year and the first since senior Henning Sauerbier picked up the honor in 2010. The Holbrook, N.Y. native was a key contributor to the revitalized Columbia offense this season, equaling Najem and Stamatis for the team-lead with five goals. He also kicked in three assists to conclude the year with 13 points, the second-highest total on the team. Three of Tinari’s tallies this year came against conference opponents (Brown, Dartmouth and Yale), while his strike against Sacred Heart in the 59th minute proved to be the game-winner.

Najem’s prolific career culminated in 2013 with his best statistical season and his first All-Ivy League first team selection. An honorable mention selection as a first-year and then a second team choice each of the next two season, Najem went off for a career-best five goals, six assists and 16 points in 16 games. Najem’s selection to the first team comes on the heels of College Sports Madness naming him the Ivy League Offensive Player of the Year. His stellar senior season brings his career points total to 31.

The selections of Tinari and Najem to the first team marks the first time since 1993 that Columbia had more than one player garner a spot on the top team. That season, Columbia had four student-athletes earn spots on the first team, including Player of the Year Rikki Dadason. Columbia’s eight Rookie of the Year selections is also now just one shy of Princeton’s nine for the most in Ivy League history.

Stamatis earns his second All-Ivy League selection as a forward. In 2011, Stamatis was named to the first team, as well as the NCAA All-Northeast Region third team. After sitting out the 2012 season, he returned to the field this year, scoring five goals, including game-winners against Northeastern, LIU Brooklyn and Dartmouth. He finishes his Columbia career with 14 goals, four assists and 32 points.

For the second consecutive season, Jackson has been recognized by the Ivy League for his shutdown play in goal. Jackson started the first 16 games of the season, finishing tied for second in the conference with four shutouts, while also posting the most wins by any keeper in the Ivy League with eight. His 53 saves was the third highest total in the Ancient Eight, while his 1.20 goals-against average was the fifth-lowest.

2013 Men's Soccer All-Ivy 

Offensive Player of the Year: Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.)
Defensive Player of the Year: Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Rookie of the Year: Andrew Tinari, Columbia (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.)

First Team ^

Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.) *
Cameron Porter, Princeton (Jr., F – Centerville, Ohio) *
Thomas Sanner, Princeton (So., F – Indianapolis)

Tariq Akeel, Brown (So.,  M – Rochester Hills, Mich.)
David Najem, Columbia (Sr., M – Clifton, N.J.)
Myles McGinley, Princeton (Jr., M – Oakton, Va.)
Andrew Tinari, Columbia  (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.)
Colin Heffron, Dartmouth (Jr., M – Upper Brookville, N.Y.)
Louis Schott, Penn (Jr., M – Medina, Wash.) 

Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.) *
Colin Skelly, Dartmouth (Sr., D – Wrightstown, Pa.)
Nick Alers, Yale (Sr., D – San Jose, Costa Rica)
Jonny Dolezal, Penn (Sr., D – Wynnewood, Pa.)
Josh Miller, Princeton (So., D – Portland, Ore.)

Evan Mendez, Harvard (So., GK – Ballston Spa, N.Y.) 

Second Team

William Stamatis, Columbia (Sr., F – Mountainside, N.J.)
Cameron Kirdzik, Yale (Fr., F – Flemington, N.J.)
Alec Neumann, Penn (Fr., F – New Hope, Pa.)

Kevin Harrington, Harvard (Sr., M – Pittsford, N.Y.)
Ross Friedman, Harvard (Sr., D – Bexley, Ohio)
Henos Musie, Yale (So., M – Gothenburg, Sweden)
Daniel Taylor, Brown (Jr., M – Greenwich, Conn.) 

Mark Ashby, Harvard (So., D – Denton, Texas)
Billy McGuinness, Princeton (Sr., D – LaGrange Park, Ill.)
Jake Rinow, Cornell (Sr., D – Lancaster, N.Y.)

Kyle Jackson, Columbia (So., GK – Paradise Valley, Ariz.) 

Honorable Mention

Ben Williams, Cornell (Sr., M – Noblesville, Ind.)
Brian Costa, Princeton (Fr., M – Warren, N.J.)
Matt Poplawski, Penn (Fr., M – Bellevue, Wash.)
Max McKiernan, Yale (Sr., M – Louisville, Ky.)

Alex Markes, Brown (Jr., D – Valenica, Calif.)
Peter Chodas, Cornell (Jr., D – LaCanada, Calif.)
Austin Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.)
Phillip Piper, Yale  (So., D – The Woodlands, Texas)

Josh Weiner, Brown (Sr., GK – Armonk, N.Y.)
Zach Zagorski, Cornell (Jr., GK – Westfield, N.J.)
Tyler Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.) 

^there are 15 players on the first team due to ties in the voting
*unanimous selections