NEW YORK – Columbia junior forward Alex Rosenberg was named second team All-Met on Tuesday by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association.

Rosenberg is the first Lion to crack the All-Met third team since John Baumann ’08CC did so with first team honors after the 2007-08 season.

The Short Hills, N.J., native had one of the finest offensive seasons in program history, averaging 16.2 points on 43.1 percent shooting from 3-point range to earn first team All-Ivy League accolades. Rosenberg set new single season records for free throws made (227) and attempted (276), and also ranked No. 3 in the NCAA in made foul shots.

Named Ivy League Player of the Week four times (Jan. 6, Jan. 20, Feb. 17, Feb. 24), the most for any Lion in a single-season, Rosenberg led the conference in scoring in Ivy League games, averaging 19.5 points per game.

His strong season allowed him to become the the 26th member of the 1,000-point club and checks in at No. 22 on the all-time scoring list with 1,025 points.

D’Angelo Harrison of St. John’s won the Haggerty Award, presented to the All-Met Division I men’s player of the year. Steve Masiello of Manhattan was named Coach of the Year for a second time. Fordham’s Jon Severe was selected Rookie of the Year.

The All-Met First and Second teams will be honored on Tuesday at the 81st NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott, Tarrytown, N.Y.