NEW YORK – The Columbia men’s golf team is headed to Briggs Ranch Golf Club in San Antonio, Texas to compete in the Texas Regional of the NCAA Championships from May 15-17. The NCAA partnered with Golf Channel to announce the regional selections live via the Morning Drive show on Monday. This is the fourth regional tournament the Lions will be competing in.

Columbia won its fifth Ivy League Championship on April 27, earning the conference’s automatic bid to the Regional Tournament. The Lions are headed to an NCAA Regional for the first time since competing in the NCAA East Regional at The Course at Yale in 2010.

Prior to 2010, Columbia hosted the Northeast Regional in 2009 at Galloway National Golf Club and made it its first regional appearance in 2008 at the West Regional at the Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Washington.

The regional format is a 54-hole tournament over three days with the five lowest scoring teams from each of the six regionals advancing to the NCAA Championships at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas from May 23-28. The top individual at each regional that is not a member of the five qualifying teams will also earn a spot at the NCAA Championships.

Texas Regional – May 15-17
Briggs Ranch Golf Club – San Antonio, Texas
Hosted by UTSA

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1) No. 6 Georgia
2) No. 7 Central Florida
3) No. 16 UCLA
4) No. 15 Vanderbilt
5) South Florida
6) SMU
7) Georgia Southern
8) Georgia State
9) TCU
10) Northwestern
11) Charleston
12) VCU
13) Columbia