NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS – Just over 24 hours after earning Ivy League Player of the Year honors, Columbia sophomore women’s golfer Michelle Piyapattra has been selected to compete as an individual in the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf East Regional.

Piyapattra is the first Columbia women’s golfer to punch her ticket to the NCAA regionals since the 2007 Lions qualified as a team. She is coming off a remarkable season in which she posted seven top 5s and wins at the Harvard Invitational and the 6th Annual ROAR-EE Invitational. Piyapattra also posted a 74.52 round average over nine events (23 rounds) this year. On Sunday, she placed fourth at the Ivy League Championship at Seaview Golf Resort’s Bay Course, earning first-team All-Ivy League honors for second-straight year.

“I am very proud of what the team accomplished this year,” Columbia head women’s golf coach Kari Williams said. “With the support of Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, we were able to improve our tournament schedule to allow Michelle an opportunity to earn a spot in the NCAA Regional. Michelle met the challenges of Northeast golf with some amazing rounds and the best overall season we have had from a Columbia golfer. She earned Ivy League Player of the Year and All-Ivy League honors by finishing fourth. This has been her goal since missing out on a chance to play in the regional last year. We are all very excited for her opportunity to compete for a spot in the National Championship later in May!”

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each of the three regionals which will be held May 10-12.

The Penn State Blue Course in State College, Pa., will be the site of the East Regional. The 12 schools fielding teams there include Alabama, Arizona, Arizona State, Augusta State, Campbell (Big South champion), Chattanooga (Southern Conference champion), Duke (ACC champion), Florida, Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley champion), Kent State (MAC champion), LIU (NEC champion), Maryland, Michigan State (Big Ten champion), Oklahoma State, Oral Roberts (Summit League champion), Northwestern, San Diego State, South Carolina, Texas, Texas A&M, Tulane, UCF, Wake Forest and Washington. The individuals joining Piyapattra include Fanny Cnops (UNC-Greensboro), Charlotte Lorentzen (Georgia State), Kelly Shon (Princeton), Katie Mundy (FIU) and Laura Wearn (Furman).