Murphy Named to the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics/Dan Lobacz

NEW YORK – Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, Director, Intercollegiate Athletics and Physical Education at Columbia University, has been named to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Women's Basketball Committee, as announced by the NCAA recently.

"I am thrilled to be appointed to the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee.  As a former player and coach and now, athletics administrator, I care deeply about college women's basketball," Murphy said.  "I am looking forward to working with the outstanding individuals on this very important NCAA committee."

Ten members, including six Football Bowl Subdivision and four Division I or Football Championship Subdivision representatives, comprise the committee. The appointment begins September 1, 2011 and runs through September 2016.

One of the many tasks that the committee is responsible for is selecting and seeding the 64-team NCAA Tournament field every year.

Two members from each of the four women's basketball regions (East, Mideast, Midwest, West) and two at-large members are voted in. No more than three committee members can be from any single region.

Murphy will join Shonna Brown, senior woman administrator/associate commissioner of the America East Conference, and Renee Mack Baumgartner, senior woman administrator at the University of Oregon, as new members of the committee this year.