Ten Lions Named Winter Academic All-Ivy League
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics/Eileen Barroso

NEW YORK - Ten Columbia student-athletes have been named to the Academic All-Ivy League team, the conference office announced. In order to be eligible for the Academic All-Ivy League squad, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average and be a starter or key reserve on his or her team.

On the men's side, Clayton Dahlman became the first Columbia men's squash player to earn the distinction. Dahlman was one of the team's captains for its inaugural varsity season, and played Nos. 2-3 for the Lions.

Brian Barbour was an honorable mention All-Ivy League selection for men's basketball and ranked ninth in the nation in free throw shooting percentage.  Also earning the honor was junior 165-pounder Eren Civan who placed second at the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (EIWA) Championships, and qualified for the NCAA Championships for the second consecutive year.

Dylan Isaacson was a member of the 4x800m relay team that won the 2011 Ivy League Indoor Heptagonal title.  Rounding out the men's honorees was Hyun Lee who was the Ivy League champion in the 500 free, 200 free, 200 fly and 400 free relay, and won the Phil Moriarty Award as the High Point Swimmer of the 2011 Ivy League Championships.

On the women's side, Kathleen Barry earned the distinction after a successful senior season that saw her earn first team All-Ivy League honors for women's basketball.  Lydia Kopecky was second team All-Ivy League and All-American in women's foil, and Katie Meili was a 2011 Ivy League Champion in 200 IM for women's swimming.

The women's track team led the way with two honorees in QueenDenise Okeke and Laura Vogel.  Okeke was the 2011 Ivy League Indoor Heptagonal Champion in the triple jump, and Vogel was part of the 4x800m relay team that set a new school record.

 For a full list of Academic All-Ivy League Honorees, click here.

Name Year Sport Major
Brian Barbour So. Men's Basketball Undecided
Kathleen Barry Sr. Women's Basetball Hispanic Studies
Eren Civan Jr. Wrestling Economics
Clayton Dahlman Sr. Men's Squash Chemical Engineering
Dylan Isaacson Sr. Indoor T&F Neuroscience & Behavior
Lydia Kopecky So. Women's Fencing Undecided
Hyun Lee Sr. Men's Swimming & Diving Industrial Engineering & Operations
Katie Meili So. Women's Swimming & Diving Undecided
QueenDenise Okeke So. Indoor T&F Undecided
Laura Vogel Sr. Indoor T&F Environmental Science