Nichols Reselected for USA National Field Hockey Team
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics

Interview with WAVY10

NORFOLK, Va. – Columbia field hockey assistant coach Caroline Nichols has been reselected to the USA National Field Hockey Team, as announced by U.S. Head Coach Craig Parnham on Thursday upon the conclusion of the week-long selection tournament held on the campus of Old Dominion University.

The 30-player roster features 12 Olympians, including two-time Olympians Lauren Crandall (Doylestown, Pa.), Rachel Dawson (Berlin, N.J.), Katelyn Falgowski (Landenburg, Pa.) and Nichols (Virginia Beach, Va.).

“I am very honored to be chosen to represent my country again, and I look forward to the new direction USA Field Hockey will take,” said Nichols. “The National Championships is a tournament filled with exceptional hockey talent striving to reach the national level, and it was exciting to be back out on the field competing amongst so many driven women. The more exciting point for me is the opportunity I will have to share all of the new information and experience I gained with the Columbia field hockey program.”

The athletes selected to the U.S. Women’s National Squad will come together as a team right away at Rutgers University in preparation for the International Hockey Federation’s World League Semi-Final to be held in London from June 22-30. Selections for the 18-player roster to play in World Cup qualifying event are expected to be made around June 3rd.

Nichols has been playing field hockey at the international level for the past six years. As a defender on the U.S. National Team, Nichols was a member of the 2008 Beijing Olympics team, the 2008 Olympic Qualifier team and the 2010 World Cup Qualifier Team. Nichols was also on the U.S. team that defeated top-ranked Argentina to win gold at the 2011 Pan American Games. In 2006, she was named to the USA World Cup Training Squad and was a member of the Netherlands Tour team in 2007. Most recently, Nichols competed in the 2012 XXX Olympics held in London.

 “I know Caroline has a tremendous amount of pride being able to represent her country doing what she loves to do, said Columbia head coach Marybeth Freemen. “As a veteran player on the squad, she's an excellent role model for younger players, particularly because of her poise on the ball, balanced defensive movement and work ethic. We are very proud to have her within our Columbia hockey program because of what she stands for and all she has accomplished.”


Full list of athletes selected to the 2013-14 U.S. Women’s National Squad:

Torrie Albini (Escondido, Cali.), Megan Beamesderfer (Iowa City, Iowa), Teresa Benvenuti (Morristown, N.J.), Michelle Cesan (New Vernon, N.J.), Lauren Crandall (Doylestown, Pa.), Rachel Dawson (Berlin, N.J.), Katelyn Falgowski (Landenburg, Pa.), Stefanie Fee (Virginia Beach, Va.), Laura Gebhart (Mount Joy, Pa.), Melissa Gonzalez (Mohegan Lake, N.Y.), Rayell Heistand (Hamburg, Pa.), Natalie Hunter (Seaville, N.J.), Jackie Kintzer (Robesonia, Pa.), Michelle Kasold (Chapel Hill, N.C.), Kelsey Kolojejchick (Larksville, Pa.), Ali McEvoy (Gilbertsville, Pa.), Jaime Montgomery (Lewisburg, Pa.), Caroline Nichols (Virginia Beach, Va.), Katie O’Donnell (Blue Bell, Pa.), Lauren Pfeiffer (Mount Laurel, N.J.), Katie Reinprecht (Perkasie, Pa.), Julia Reinprecht (Perkasie, Pa.) Paige Selenski (Shavertown, Pa.), Kathleen Sharkey (Moosic, Pa.), Caitlin Van Sickle (Wilmington, Del.), Shannon Taylor (Midlothian, Va.), Michelle Vittese (Cherry Hill, N.J.), Alesha Widdall (Whitney Point, N.Y.), Jill Witmer (Lancaster, Pa.), Emily Wold (Freehold, N.J)