2011 Gladiator by SGI/NFHCA Division I Collegiate National Academic Squad

NEW YORK - Eleven Columbia field hockey players have been named to the 2011 Gladiator by SGI/NFHCA Division I Collegiate National Academic Squad as announced on Monday.

Columbia's honorees include Molly Andrews, Zoe Blake, Carson Christus, Danielle Cosentino, Bridget DeSandis, Kyle Marsh, Creaghan Peters, Ellie Robertson, Desi Scherf, Marlee Silverstein and Paige Simmons.

“Overall, we are really pleased with our 2011 NFHCA academic accomplishments," head coach Marybeth Freeman said. "As a collective unit, our student-athletes challenged themselves to raise their personal academic standards to ensure optimal team results. Specifically, we are thrilled these 11 women will represent Columbia and our hockey program on the academic stage. We take pride in how well our student athletes maintain their management skills and stay diligent with their work ethic. To garner these awards is special and a congratulations goes to our entire hockey program.”

Among the two seniors on the list, Scherf finishes her Columbia career as four-time NFHCA All-Academic Squad honoree as she was also recognized in 2008, 2009 and 2010. Christus was a three-time honoree, making the squad in 2008 and 2010.

Juniors Andrews and Simmons garnered NFHCA All-Academic squad all three of their years in Columbia Blue. Simmons was also a 2011 Academic All-Ivy League selection. Fellow junior Bridget DeSandis is a first-time honoree.

Sophomores Cosentino and Peters are both two-time selections.

The Lions are coming off a great 2011 season. Columbia went 9-8 and tied for third in the Ivy League, going 5-2 in conference play to tie for the best league mark in program history. The Lions also had a program-best six All-Ivy League selections in first team selections Gabby Kozlowski (unanimous), Leti Freaney and Christie O'Hara, second teamers Christus and Katie DeSandis and honorable mention Simmons.

Kozlowski and O'Hara were also 2011 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-Mideast Region Second Team selections.