NEW YORK – The Columbia women’s rowing team opens up its championship season at the EAWRC Sprints on Sunday, May 4 on the Cooper River in Camden, New Jersey.

The Lions have the top-ranked varsity eight and second varsity eight crews in the field of 10. Columbia will take on the likes of Northeastern, Navy, Georgetown, Boston University, Boston College, MIT, Buffalo, Rutgers and Holy Cross.

Columbia had last weekend off after a busy two days of racing at the Clemson Invitational on Apr. 19-20. The only crew the Lions have faced previously this season is Northeastern, who they defeated on Apr. 12 to claim the Woodbury Cup.

Schedule and lane assignments are subject to change.

Morning heats
8:20 a.m. - Varsity Eight (Heat One)
Rutgers (lane 1), Boston University (2), Columbia (3), Georgetown (4), Buffalo (5)
8:40 a.m. – Second Varsity Eight (Heat One)
Buffalo (lane 1), Boston University (2), Columbia (3), Boston College (4), MIT (5)
9 a.m. – Varsity Four A (Heat One)
Buffalo (lane 1), Boston University (2), Navy (3), Columbia (4), Georgetown (5)

All races: the top three crews in each heat will advance to the Grand Final, with the next three crews advancing to the Petite Final

Afternoon finals
2 p.m. - Varsity Four A Petite Final
2:10 p.m. - Varsity Four A Grand Final
2:25 p.m. – Second Varsity Eight Petite Final
2:35 p.m. – Second Varsity Eight Grand Final
2:50 p.m. – Varsity Eight Petite Final
3 p.m. – Varsity Eight Grand Final