Five Women Named Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Scholar Athletes
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics/Gene Boyars

NEW YORK – Five Columbia women's rowers – senior Kasey Koopmans, juniors Louisa Mink and Stephanie Ngai and sophomores Rebecca Randall and Natalie Rutherford – have been named 2011 Scholar Athletes by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association. 

Koopmans, one of Columbia's two captains along with Katie Mitchell, rowed primarily in the stroke seat for Columbia's second varsity eight this spring.  A native of Bellevue, Wash., Koopmans recently graduated from Columbia College with a degree in political science.

Mink rowed in the stroke seat for Columbia's first varsity four boat for a majority of the season.  Mink, who hails from Mystic, Conn., is an urban studies major.

Ngai served as the coxswain for Columbia's first varsity eight throughout much of the spring racing season, helping steer Columbia to a victory in the Petite Final at EAWRC Sprints.  A native of Berkeley, Calif., Ngai is a history major.

As a sophomore, Randall was a mainstay in Columbia's first varsity eight.  Rowing primarily in the second seat, Randall was one of five sophomores that saw a majority of time in the first boat.  Randall hails from Boston and is a liberal arts student.

Rutherford is another member of the sophomore class that made a contribution to the Columbia crew this season.  Rutherford split the majority of her time between Columbia's second varsity eight and the first varsity four.  A native of Dexter, Mich., Rutherford is a physics major in Barnard College.

To be eligible for this honor, the student-athlete needs to have a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher for her career (through the fall semester for the current competition year). The student-athlete also has to be at least a sophomore and rowed in a minimum of 75% of the current spring races or racing in a regional conference event.