NEW YORK-On Wednesday, April 25 the Columbia squash programs celebrated its success in the 2011-12 season, honored three seniors Liz Chu, Anchit Nayar and Brandon Thompson, and announced the teams' captains for the upcoming season.

In only their second year as a varsity program, the Columbia men's squash team put together a strong season and continued to earn national respect with a top 10 national finish. Led by Columbia Alumni and Friends Head Coach Jacques Swanepoel, the Lions are making monumental strides. From getting the program's first Ivy League win over Brown, to a runner-up finish in the Hoehn Cup in the CSA National Championships, Columbia continues to lay a solid foundation for a strong squash program.

With head coach Kelsey Engman at the helm, the Columbia women's squash team ended the 2011-12 season on a high note capturing a victory in the consolation final of the 2012 CSA National Championships. The win pushed 16th-ranked Columbia up three spots to a No. 13 ranking to finish the year.

Sophomore Katie Quan received Columbia women's squash Most Improved Award. Quan began the season competing at the no. 8 position and would work her way to the no. 2 position for the Lions. She posted wins over Brown's no.5 and Dartmouth's no.4 to highlight an impressive season.

The men's squash program selected Hyunho Rhee for the Most Improved Award. Rhee began the season at the no. 10 position and worked his way to the no. 8 position. He posted notable wins at Brown and won a tough matchup at no. 8 to key the upset victory over Navy in the first game of the CSA National Championships.

The Most Valuable Player Awards went to sophomore Skylar Dickey and first-year Ramit Tandon. Dickey led Columbia women's squash with the most wins with eight on the year, including going 3-0 at the CSA National Championships.

Tandon posted a 15-1 record this season earning a #2 national ranking following a runner-up finish in the 2012 CSA National Championships. The All-American's only loss of the season came in an exciting championship match with shared Ivy League co-Rookie of the Year Ali Farag.

Head coaches Jacques Swanepoel and Kelsey Engman, capped the celebration with the donning of the 2012-13 season captains. Dickey and Quan will lead the women's squash team, while sophomore Andrew Tan and upcoming senior Tony Zou anchor the men's squash team.