Men's and Women's Squash Celebrate First Varsity Season at Inaugural Team Banquet
Courtesy: Columbia University Athletics

NEW YORK - The Columbia men's and women's squash teams had their first varsity team banquet at the Faculty House on Columbia's campus on Wednesday, April 13. More than 70 people showed up for the event to celebrate a successful first varsity season for both teams.

The evening began with remarks from head coaches Kelsey Engman and Jacques Swanepoel, followed by a few thoughts from Geoff Grant '82 SEAS and Ken Torrey who have both been involved with the squash team since it was a club. 

Team award winners were announced for both teams.  On the men's side, Andrew Tan was named the most improved while Theo Buchsbaum was the team's MVP.  For the women, senior co-captain Anne Cheng was chosen as the most improved, while Skylar Dickey was named MVP.  The 2011-12 captains were also announced, as Liz Chu will be the team captain for the women's team, and Tony Zou and Anchit Nayar will be co-captains of the men's team.