NEW YORK—Senior running back Chris Schroer was named to the College Sports Information Directors Association Academic All-America Second Team, the organization announced on Thursday. Schroer becomes the 11th football player and 34th all-time Columbia student-athlete to earn Academic All-America honors.


A senior running back from Cincinnati, Ohio, Schroer ranked No. 7 in the Ivy League and led the Lions in rushing with 638 yards on 137 carries and a touchdown. He also caught 18 passes for 162 yards and a touchdown and ranked second on the squad in total offense (638 yards). Over the season’s last three games, Schroer rushed for 398 yards on 74 carries (5.3 yards per carry average) and totaled back-to-back 100-yard rushing games (183 at Cornell and 125 vs. Harvard). A Sociology major with a 3.94 grade point average, Schroer has rushed for 920 career yards on 217 carries and two touchdowns and caught 33 passes for 295 yards in his 32-game career.


Previously, Schroer was named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District 1 Team for the second consecutive season. With that selection, he became eligible to earn CoSIDa Academic All-America team honors. The nomination criteria calls for a student-athlete to be either a starter or key reserve with at least a 3.30 grade point average on a 4.0 scale. Nominated athletes must also have participated in 50 percent of their team’s games and be of sophomore status academically. The nominees are voted upon by members of the College Sports Information Directors Association and are selected by position.


Schroer, senior safety Ryan Gilbert and sophomore offensive lineman Parker Coogan were all previously named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District 1 Team in November. Those players represented three of the 10 Columbia football players who were nominated for the honor. Others who were nominated for the academic all-district honor included senior quarterback Anders Hill, junior wide receiver Kyle Castner, senior defensive lineman Connor Heeb, sophomore linebacker Michael Murphy, sophomore defensive lineman Arman Samouk, senior punter Parker Thome and junior linebacker Sean White.



1952-Mitch Price (Football), First Team

1953-John Gasella (Football)

1956-Claude Benham (Football)

1971-John Sefcik (Football), First Team

1978-Mario Biaggi (Football), Second Team; Shane Cotner (Men’s Basketball), Fourth Team

1979-Mario Biaggi (Football), Second Team

1983-Sam Denmeade (Football), Second Team

1984-Mike DiChiaro (Baseball), First Team

1985-Glenn Myers (Baseball), First Team

1987-*Ilaria Rebay (Track & Field), First Team

1988-*Michael Girouard (Swimming), First Team

1995-Garrett Neubart (Baseball), First Team

2002-Derek Johnson (Baseball), First Team

2003-Billy Hess (Baseball), Second Team; Ryan Schmidt (Baseball), First Team; Dean Arnaotakis (Men’s Soccer), First Team

2004-Dean Arnaotakis (Men’s Soccer), Second Team; *Emma Baratta (Fencing), Second Team

2005-Caroline Bierbaum (Track & Field), First Team

2006-Darren Schmidt (Football), Second Team; Greg Cass (Men’s Soccer), First Team; *Emma Baratta (Fencing), First Team; Caroline Bierbaum (Track & Field), First Team

2009-*Jeff Spear (Fencing), First Team; Patrick Foley (Men’s Basketball), Third Team; Sophie Reiser (Women’s Soccer), Third Team

2010-Adam Mehrer (Football), Second Team; *Jeff Spear (Fencing), First Team; Patrick Foley (Men’s Basketball), First Team

2011-Bob Haushlidt (Football), Second Team; Kathleen Barry (Women’s Basketball), First Team

2015-Nadia Eke (Track & Field), Second Team

2017-Chris Schroer (Football), Second Team